top of page

The Best Spot in NYC for a Rehearsal Dinner

Updated: Jul 26, 2018

Ulivo had everything we were looking for in a rehearsal dinner locale: charm, intimacy, great food.

My husband, Taylor, and I had a very intimate wedding ceremony in New York City with seventeen people including immediate family and a handful of close friends. Our receptions were held later in the summer where we were able to celebrate with all extended family and friends. It was a little untraditional, but more and more couples are breaking the rules.


Rehearsal Dinner at Ulivo in Flatiron District

The Chef's Table - photo courtesy of ulivonyc.com

From 2010 to 2011, I worked as a waitress at a restaurant called Mercato. Fabio, the owner, is from Puglia in the South of Italy and has brought his traditional recipes and mixology skills to the New YorkCity restaurant scene. I always loved the food at Mercato and have often gone back for birthday and anniversary dinners. So, when I heard that Fabio had opened a new restaurant, called Ulivo, I was excited to check it out. On the day I went wedding dress shopping, my sister, best friend, and I went to Ulivo for lunch. We were dazzled. Just like Mercato, the food is fresh, interesting, and rich and the decor has a retro modern vibe.



A few weeks later, Taylor and I had dinner there with his family. They were equally impressed with the food and ambience. We decided that this was the ideal spot for our rehearsal dinner. There is a long, chef's table, near the open kitchen, that seats twenty. Perfect.



The night of our rehearsal dinner couldn't have gone any better. The food was excellent, the service impeccable, and the chef's table was private enough to enjoy everyone's company for such a special occasion.



bottom of page